Coach of the Year, Kirk Muller? Photo Credit: Ron Chenoy-US PRESSWIRE

2012 NHL Awards Predictions Caniac Style

Yesterday I posted my adventures during last year’s NHL Awards in Vegas, so now it is time for my 2012 picks. I’m going to take it a step further and declare my dream selections in addition to who I really think is going to win. Caniacs are used to dreaming and hoping, so it was easy…

Lady Byng Memorial

Martin St. Louis was titled the most outstanding sportsmanship last summer and this year I would like Brian Campbell of the Panthers to win, but I think the trophy will go to Stars’ winger Loui Eriksson.

Hart Memorial

I watched Corey Porey snag this award for the league’s MVP last year, but it will most certainly go to Evgeni Malkin of the Pens this time around. Although, I would love to see Henrik Lundqvist get the honor.

James Norris Memorial

Erik Karlsson from the Ottawa Senators is said to be the shoe-in for this honor, replacing Detroit’s Nicklas Lidstrom. I agree with this pick, but it would be pretty groovy to see Ryan Suter win the award for all-around best defenseman ability.

Vezina Trophy

Oh, this is such a fun category. So many outstanding goalies this season. I would love Brian Elliott or Pekka Rinne to win, but since it is unlikely, I will gladly go with King Henry.

Calder Trophy

I can still hear Mr. Jeff Skinner’s name being called in Vegas last year. It is my dream the trophy stays in Carolina and goes to Justin Faulk. The kid had a stellar rookie season. He is so smart on the ice and I adored watching him play with Jay Harrison. However, I think the credit will go to Avs’ Gabriel Landeskog.

Bill Masterston Memorial

No, I do not think Matt Cooke should win simply for changing his ways. I’m proud of him, but it will go to Max Pacioretty. I think having a 30 goal season after breaking your flipping neck is more impressive.

Frank J. Selke Memorial

Ryan Kesler was the best defensive forward last year. I wish to see Pavel Datsyak take the tophy this year, but I think Patrice Bergeron will actually win.

NHL GM of the Year

No question, it must go to Dale Tallon of the Florida Panthers. Perhaps the sequel to Moneyball can be Moneypuck staring this year’s Cinderella team.

Jack Adams Award

The Pittsburgh Penguins watched their coach, Dan Bylsma, win last year. In my Caniac mind, Kirk Muller did more for the Hurricanes than any coach in the league this season, but that’s just one crazy Canes’ opinion. The award will most likely go to Ken Hitchcock of the St. Louis Blues with his 45-15-11 record.

There you have it hockey fans. Those are my dreams and predictions from Raleigh, North Carolina. I hope everyone has a terrific weekend. Time to skate…

Next Hurricanes Game Full schedule »
Saturday, Nov 11 Nov7:00Arizona CoyotesBuy Tickets

Tags: Brian Elliott Dale Tallon Dan Bylsma Erik Karlsson Evgeni Malkin Gabriel Landeskog Henrik Lundqvist Justin Faulk Ken Hitchcock Kirk Muller Loui Eriksson Martin St. Louis Matt Cooke Max Pac NHL Awards Nicklas Lidstrom Patrice Bergeron Pavel Datsyuk Pekka Rinne Ryan Kesler Ryan Suter

comments powered by Disqus