2010-11 Rookie of the Year, Jeff Skinner. (Photo: Julie Jacobson/AP)

Calder Trophy Winners: Where are They Now & Where is Skinner Going?

Sometimes the best way to look into the future is by looking into the past. As the 2011-12 season inches closer to the first puck drop, fans get anxious about their teams’ future. Will they come out of the gates firing? How will the team fare come April? Who will be the star?

Many eyes are focused on the star rookie, excuse me, sophomore Jeff Skinner. Is he set to have a 70+ point season? A prediction of Skinner’s upcoming season may be forecasted by looking at the past five Rookie of the Year winners.

2005-06: Alexander Ovechkin

The Washington Capitals winger was 20 years old when named Rookie of the Year. The Russian is quite the decorated player, boasting other awards such as the Hart Memorial Trophy (2008 & 2009), Art Ross Trophy, Ted Lindsay Award, and Rocket Richard Trophy (2008 & 2009).

Statistical rundown: 2005-06: 52g, 54a, 2006-07: 46g, 46a, 2007-08: 65g, 47a, 2008-09: 56g, 54a, 2009-10: 50g, 59a, 2010-11: 32g, 53a

2006-07: Evgeni Malkin

Another 20 year old Russian snags the Calder Memorial Trophy with 21 goals and 26 assists. Geno has also earned the Art Ross Trophy and the Conn Smythe Trophy with the 2009 Stanley Cup winners, Pittsburgh Penguins.

Statistical rundown: 2006-07: 21g, 26a, 2007-08: 47g, 59a, 2008-09: 35g, 78a, 2009-10: 28g, 49a, 2010-11: 15g, 22a (43 games played due to injury)

Steve Mason (Photo Credit: AP/Mark Avery)

2007-08: Patrick Kane

The Blackhawks rookie star was 19 years old when he managed 21 goals and 51 assists his Calder Trophy year. He helped his Chicago team lift the Cup in 2010 and won a silver medal at the 2010 Winter Olympics.

Statistical rundown: 2007-08: 21g, 51a, 2008-09: 25g, 45a, 2009-10: 30g, 58a, 2010-11: 27g, 46a


2008-09: Steve Mason

The year a netminder claimed the Calder Trophy. Steve Mason of the Columbus Blue Jackets has made quite a name for himself. He earned MVP and Best Player Award (goaltending) at the 2008 World Juniors. Team Canada brought home the gold medal as well. Mason was 21 years of age at the time of his rookie honors.

Statistical rundown: 2008-09: 33-20-7, .916 SV%, 2009-10: 20-26-9, .901 SV%, 2010-11: 24-21-7, .901 SV%


2009-10: Tyler Myers

The Buffalo Sabres defenseman won gold for Canada in the 2008 IIHF World U18 Championships and the 2009 World Juniors in addition to the Calder Trophy in 2010. The Big Easy was 20 years old when given the Rookie of the Year award.

Statistical rundown: 2009-10: 11g, 37a, 32 PIM, +/- 13, 2010-11: 10g, 27a, 40 PIM, +/- (4)


2010-11: Jeff Skinner

The Hurricanes forward took home the Calder Memorial Trophy at the age of 18 (technically). He is also the youngest NHL All-Star selection, and the third youngest player to score a winning shootout goal on September 22, 2010.

Statistical rundown: 2010-11: 31g, 32a


Unlike some titles, the Calder Memorial Trophy does not appear to come with a jinx. There have been no one hit wonders since the NHL Lockout. Averaging the statistics post Calder win, Myers and Mason have seen a slight dip in success, Ovechkin has remained steady
while Kane and Malkin have improved based on their averages.

As the youngest of the bunch, it is fair to say Jeff Skinner has a lucrative career ahead of him. Given the support of a solid unit, Skinner is set to have a victorious upcoming season.

Cardiac Cane’s skinny on Skinner in 2011-12: 36 goals, 38 assists

Tags: Alexander Ovechkin Buffalo Sabres Calder Memorial Trophy Carolina Hurricanes Chicago Columbus Blue Jackets Evgeni Malkin Jeff Skinner NHL Patrick Kane Pittsburgh Penguins Steve Mason Tyler Myers Washington Capitals

comments powered by Disqus